

17 Carlton House Terrace London, SW1Y 5AS www.tcpa.org.uk

# MINUTES OF THE 123rd TCPA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD VIRTUALLY AT 17:30 ON WEDNESDAY 19 JULY 2023

#### Present:

Rt Hon Nick Raynsford (President), Andrew Pritchard (Chair of the Board), Lee Shostak OBE (Hon. Treasurer), David Lock CBE, Sandra Fryer, Anna Rose (on behalf of Planning Advisory Service), Ashley Baldwin, Brian Love, Catriona Riddell, Dean Hermitage (on behalf of Uttlesford District Council), Gwyn Roberts (on behalf of BRE), Jan Bessell, Jim Davies, Judith Montford, Judith Howles, Laurie Baker, Lourdes Madigasekera-Elliott, Marilyn Evers, Mike Cuddy, Moozhan Skakeri, Nick Gallent, Richard Wood, Rob Cowan, Robin Smith, Roger Kirkham, Rory Hillman, Shelly Rouse (on behalf of Planning Advisory Service), Simin Davoudi, Stephanie Bamford, Stuart Andrews, Stuart Turner, Tim Marshall and Tony Champion.

#### **TCPA Staff in attendance:**

Fiona Howie (Chief Executive), Katy Lock (Director, Communities and Project Delivery (FJ Osborn Fellow)) and Julia Thrift (Director, Healthier Place-Making and Operations)

### 1. Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Lord Blunkett, Peter Ellis, Aranvir Gawera, Alan Carter (on behalf of the Land Trust), Diane Smith, Gilian Macinnes, Barry Davies, Raymond Green, John Montgomery and Alice Sewell.

## 2. Minutes of the 122nd AGM of 13 July 2022

These were agreed as a correct record.

#### 3. Matters Arising from the Minutes of the 122nd AGM of 13 July 2022

There were no other matters arising.

## 4. Annual Report of the Board and Financial Statements 2022

The Chair of the Board and Honorary Treasurer gave brief overviews of the achievements and financial position of the Association. The Chair highlighted that the organisation achieved a substantial amount during 2022 including projects at the national, local and community levels. This included the Healthy Homes campaign, work with the New Communities Group, and work with communities in Peterlee and Belfast. He noted that our work at the community level helped to strengthen our national campaigning.

The Honorary Treasurer noted that the financial statements showed the Association had reported a small surplus again in 2022 and he congratulated the staff team on stewarding the Association through a difficult time.

The President echoed that a small surplus following a surplus in 2021, was a positive outcome. He invited any questions from the members and then proposed that the Annual Report and Financial Statements should be agreed. This was seconded by Stephanie Bamford and agreed by the members.

#### 5. Election of President for 2023-24

The Chair of the Board of Trustees proposed the Rt Hon Nick Raynsford to continue to serve as President for another year. This was seconded by Sandra Fryer. There were no other nominations, and the members agreed the Rt Hon Nick Raynsford be elected. The President thanked the members for his re-election.

#### 6. Election of Vice-Presidents for 2023-24

The President then proposed the currently serving Vice Presidents for re-election for the year ahead. They are Gideon Amos OBE, Mike Ash CBE, Graeme Bell OBE, Lord Richard Best, John Blake, Rt Hon David Blunkett, Sir Kenneth Collins, Lord Deben, John Deegan, Tony Fyson MBE, Nicky Gavron, Vincent Goodstadt, Sir Malcolm Grant CBE, Ray Green, Baroness Sally Hamwee, Kate Henderson, Peter Hetherington, Rt Hon Keith Hill, Reverend James Jones, Jiggy Lloyd, David Lock CBE, Mary Riley, Prof Peter Roberts OBE, Diane Smith and Pam Warhurst CBE.

The proposal was seconded by Simin Davoudi and agreed by the meeting.

#### 7. Election of Trustees

The President reported that following the call for nominations there had been four nominations for four vacancies and therefore an election had not been necessary.

The Chief Executive reported that the successful candidates were:

- Sandra Fryer
- Nick Gallent
- Catriona Riddell
- Alice Sewell

The President declared the candidates elected.

The Chair of the Board thanked Leigh Johnson who stepped down as an appointed Trustee earlier in 2023, and Anna Rose, who stepped down at the AGM following six years on the Board as an elected Trustee.

# 8. New Members of the Policy Council

The President reported that there had been six nominations for eleven vacancies on the TCPA Policy Council. An election had not, therefore been held ahead of the AGM.

The Chief Executive confirmed that the six nominations for Policy Council were:

- Brian Love
- Jenifer Jackson
- Peter Richmond (on behalf of the organisational member, Bournville Village Trust)
- Gwyn Roberts (on behalf of the organisational member, BRE)
- Shelly Rouse (on behalf of the organisational member, Planning Advisory Service)
- Richard Wood

The President declared the candidates elected.

The Chair of the Board welcomed the new members and thanked staff, Trustees and Policy Council members for their insight and expertise. He also thanked the retiring Policy Council members, which were Simeon Jackson, Jake Shepherd and Elisabeth Williams for their involvement.

#### 9. Appointment of Auditors

The Honorary Treasurer noted that there was a need for the Association to go out to tender for auditors in the future. This exercise would be undertaken ahead of auditors being appointed at the 2024 AGM.

In the short term however, he proposed the re-appointment of Sayers Butterworth as Auditors and to authorise the Board to fix their remuneration. The Honorary Treasurer put the proposal to the meeting, it was seconded by the Chair, and agreed by the meeting.

# 10. Any Other Business

The Chief Executive highlighted that the Hon. Treasurer had indicated his intention to stand down. A process was, therefore, underway to find a new Treasurer and members were encouraged to help share the recruitment pack. The President thanked the Treasurer for his enormous contribution to the Association.

The President also thanked the staff team and congratulated the Chair of the Board on his first year as Chair. There was no other business.

The President thanked the members for their continued support and declared the formal AGM closed at 17:52.

# 11. Discussion: The Tomorrow 125 project

The Director, Communities and Project Delivery gave a short presentation about the Association's Tomorrow 125 project, which had started in 2021. The Chair of the Board then chaired a discussion with members which included the perception of the Garden City principles, the importance of looking to influence place-making beyond the statutory planning system and the need for clarity about the scale at which the project is focusing.

The informal discussion session was drawn to a close at 18:45 with the President thanking all the attendees for their input into the meeting and their ongoing support.

Signed by the President:			Dated:		